← Ingredient & E-number explorer

✓

E-number E406 · Emulsifiers & thickeners

Agar

Halal

Typical source
Red seaweed
Plain-language explanation
Agar, also known as agar-agar, is a jelly-like substance extracted from red seaweed, making it a plant-based ingredient. Since it is derived from seaweed, it is universally considered halal by all major certification bodies like JAKIM, MUI, and MUIS. Its halal status does not depend on the source because it is not an animal product, and it is commonly used as a vegetarian alternative to gelatin.

Related additives

Scan a product →